List of Presidents of India from 1950 to 2024

List of all Presidents of India from 1950-2024 – The Constitution of India was adopted on 26 November 1949 (it came into force on 26 January 1950). Dr. Rajendra Prasad was the first President of India while Draupadi Murmu is the current President of India and the first tribal woman to hold the highest constitutional post in the country.

There have been 15 Indian presidents since the adoption of the Indian Constitution in 1950, and there have been periods when the country was headed by an acting president. In this post, you will learn about all the presidents of India from 1950 to 2024.

Read also – RBI Governors List from 1935 to 2024

List of Indian Presidents – 1950 to 2024

The President of India is referred to as the first citizen of India. The Indian President is elected by an electoral college consisting of the elected members of Parliament, the Lok Sabha, the Rajya Sabha, and the Vidhan Sabha.

See also  List of Prime Ministers of India from 1947 to 2024

Aspirants for the UPSC exam, Bank exam, SSC exam, or any other prominent competitive exam are advised to stay updated with Current Affairs, and GK topics of the questions are based on general awareness in any exam. Check list of Presidents of India from 1950 to 2024.

Related topics – List of Holidays in 2024 by Central Government

NameStarting dateEnding dateProfiles with Description
Dr. Rajendra PrasadJanuary 26th, 1950May 13th, 1962He was the first President of the Republic of India.
Dr. Sarvepalli RadhakrishnanMay 13th, 1962May 13th, 1967He was the second president of India.
Dr.the  Zakir HussainMay 13th, 1967May 3rd, 1969He was the 3rd President of India.
Varahagiri Venkata GiriMay 3rd, 1969July 20th, 1969He was elected Vice President of India in 1967.
He served as President for a short period due to the sudden death of Zakir Hussain in office.
Mohammad HidayatullahJuly 20th, 1969August 24th, 1969He was acting President till Giri’s presidency.
Varahagiri Venkata GiriAugust 24th, 1969August 24th, 1974He was the 4th President of India.
Fakhruddin Ali AhmedAugust 24th, 1974February 11th, 1977He was the 5th President of India.
He was president during the emergency.
He was the second president to die in office.
Basappa Danappa Jatti (B. D. Jatti)February 11th, 1977July 25th, 1977He was a chief minister of Mysore but was elected as President, After the death of Ali Ahmed.
Neelam Sanjiva ReddyJuly 25th, 1977July 25th, 1982Reddy was the 6th President of India unopposed.
He was the first Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh.
He became the youngest president to occupy Rashtrapati Bhavan and twice contested for the post of president.
Giani Zail SinghJuly 25th, 1982July 25th, 1987He was the 7th President of India and was also a member of the Congress party.
He was the Chief Minister of Punjab and Union Home Minister
Ramaswamy VenkataramanJuly 25th, 1987July 25th, 1992He was the 8th President of India. He was also a lawyer and a professional politician.
Shankar Dayal SharmaJuly 25th, 1992July 25th, 1997He was the 9th President of India, and he was also a member of the National Congress Party of India.
Kocheril Raman NarayananJuly 25th, 1997July 25th, 2002He was the 10th President of India and the best diplomat in India.
Dr. A.P.J. Abdul KalamJuly 25th, 2002July 25th, 2007He was the 11th President of India, and he was a great scientist. He worked in ISRO and DRDO organizations.
Pratibha PatilJuly 25th, 2007July 25th, 2012She was the 12th President of India, and she was the first woman to Be President.
Pranab MukherjeeJuly 25th, 2012July 25th, 2017He was the 13th President of India, and he was also a senior leader of the National Congress party.
Shri Ram Nath KovindJuly 25th, 2017July 21st, 2022He is the 14th President of India, and he is also the ex-governor Of Bihar.
Droupadi MurmuJuly 21st, 2022IncumbentShe is the 15th President of India and was a member of the Bharatiya Janata Party(BJP)

Selection of the Indian President

The president is elected through a process of proportional representation with a single transferable vote. A president can be removed through the impeachment process.

See also  Domestic & International Airports In India List

Below are the qualifications for the post of President of India:

Read also – List Of Current Deputy Chief Ministers Of India 2024

  • Must be an Indian citizen
  • He must be at least 35 years old
  • He must qualify the necessary conditions for election as a member of the Lok Sabha
  • He shall not hold any lucrative position in the Central Government, State Government, or any public authority.


Who is the first woman President of India?

Prathibha Devisingh Patil (July 25, 2007 – July 25, 2012). She was the first woman president of India.

Who is the second president of India?

Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan served as the second President of India, holding office from May 13, 1962 to May 13, 1967.

How many are there President of India?

15 presidents (All Presidents of India listed above)

Who was the 15th President of the Republic of India?

Draupadi Murmu was sworn in as the 15th President of India on 25 July 2022.

Leave a Comment