Press "Enter" to skip to content

List of Indian states and their languages – Indian states and their languages

The article provides detailed information on the official languages of India and the state as the official language. This article also describes the journey and evolution of the official languages of India( List of Indian states and their languages ). The largest republic in the world, the Republic of India has 29 states and 7 union territories. The head of state is the prime minister and the head of the union territory is called lieutenant governor or administrator.

History of India and world – Historical Events

List of languages spoken in various states of India

States and Union Territories of IndiaLanguageOther language
Jammu and KashmirKashmiriDogri and Hindi
Himachal PradeshHindiPunjabi and nepali
HaryanaHindiPunjabi and urdu
UttarakhandHindiGadwali, Kumaoni, Urdu, Punjabi and Nepali
DelhiHindiPunjabi, Urdu and Bengali
Uttar PradeshHindiUrdu
RajasthanHindiPunjabi and urdu
Madhya PradeshHindiMarathi and Urdu
West BengalBengaliHindi, Santali, Urdu, Nepali
BiharHindiMaithili and Urdu
JharkhandHindiSantali, Bengali and Urdu
SikkimNepaliHindi, Bengali
Arunachal PradeshBengaliNepali, Hindi and Assamese
NagalandBengaliHindi and Nepali
MizoramBengaliHindi and Nepali
AssamAssameseBengali, Hindi, Bodo and Nepali
MeghalayaBengaliHindi and Nepali
ManipurManipuri,Nepali, Hindi and Bengali
OdishaOriyaHindi, Telugu and Santali
MaharashtraMarathiHindi, Urdu and Gujarati
GujaratGujaratiHindi, Sindhi, Marathi and Urdu
KarnatakaKannadaUrdu, Telugu, Marathi and Tamil
Daman and DiuGujaratiHindi and Marathi
Dadra and Nagar HaveliGujaratiHindi, Konkani and Marathi
GoaKonkaniMarathi, Hindi and Kannada
Andra PradeshTeluguUrdu, Hindi and Tamil
Tamil NaduTamilTelugu, Kannada and Urdu
PuducherryTamilTelugu, Kannada and Urdu
Andaman and Nicobar IslandsBengaliHindi, Tamil, Telugu and Malayalam

Eighth Constitution Calendar for Official Languages

According to the eighth program of the constitution, only 15 of the regional state languages received the status of the official languages of the states. These languages were – 1) Assamese, 2) Bengali, 3) Gujarati, 4) Hindi, 5) Kannada, 6) Kashmir, 7) Malayalam, 8) Marathi, 9) Oriya, 10) Punjabi, 11) Sanskrit, 12) Tamil, 13) Telugu, 14) Urdu, 15) Sindhi
Important constitutional amendments for the official languages of India

71st Amendment of the Constitution for official languages

In the 71st amendment of the constitution, Konkani, Manipuri, and Nepal were also added in 1992, which makes official languages count to 18.

92nd Amendment of the Constitution for official languages

Bodo, Dogri, Maithili, and Santali were added in amendment 92 of the constitution, which makes the total list of official languages.

So friends, hope you liked this article and you got some new information. Please tell me in the comments.

Be First to Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *