Dadasaheb Phalke Award Winners List (1969-2024)

Dadasaheb Phalke Award Winners: The Dadasaheb Phalke Award is the highest honor in Indian cinema and is presented annually by the Government of India. This award recognizes outstanding contributions to the Indian film industry and is given to individuals for their lifetime achievements in cinema. It is presented annually at the National Film Awards by the Directorate of Film Festivals. The award is named after Dhundiraj Govind Phalke, popularly known as Dadasaheb Phalke. Dadasaheb Phalke is considered the “Father of Hindi Cinema“.

List of all Recipients of the Dadasaheb Phalke Awards

The Dadasaheb Phalke Award was first introduced in 1969 and has since become a prestigious recognition in the world of Indian cinema. Recipients of the Dadasaheb Phalke Award are selected by a committee appointed by the Government of India (GOI).

See also  HCS Prelims 2024 MCQ Based Revision Course | Abhimanu IAS

Read also – List of Bharat Ratna Award Winners from 1954 to 2024

The first recipient of the Dadasaheb Phalke Award was actress Devika Rani who was honored at the 17th National Film Awards.

The Union Minister for Information and Broadcasting recently announced that legendary actress Ms. Waheeda Rehman will be honored with the Dadasaheb Phalke Lifetime Achievement Award 2021.

The 2024 Dadasaheb Phalke Lifetime Achievement Award will be announced soon.


Below is the complete List of Dadasaheb Phalke Award Winners Year-Wise from 1969 to 2024.

Ceremonial YearRecipientFilm industry
2021 (69th)Waheeda RehmanTamil
2020 (68th)Asha ParekhHindi
2019 (67th) RajnikanthTamil
2018 (66th)Amitabh BachchanHindi
2017 (65th)Vinod KhannaHindi
2016 (64th)Kasinathuni ViswanathTelugu
2015 (63rd)Manoj KumarHindi
2014 (62nd)Shashi KapoorHindi
2013 (61st)GulzarHindi
2012 (60th)PranHindi
2011 (59th)Soumitra ChatterjeeBengali
2010 (58th)K. BalachanderTamil, Telugu
2009 (57th)D. RamanaiduTelugu
2008 (56th)V. K. MurthyHindi
2007(55th)Manna DeyBengali, Hindi
2006 (54th)Tapan SinhaBengali, Hindi
2005 (53rd)Shyam BenegalHindi
2004 (52nd)Adoor GopalakrishnanMalayalam
2003 (51st)Mrinal SenBengali
2002 (50th)Dev AnandHindi
2001 (49th)Yash ChopraHindi
2000 (48th)Asha Bhosle Hindi, Marathi
1999 (47th)Hrishikesh MukherjeeHindi
1998 (46th)B. R. ChopraHindi
1997 (45th)Kavi PradeepHindi
1996 (44th)Sivaji GanesanTamil
1995 (43rd)RajkumarKannada
1994 (42nd)Dilip KumarHindi
1993 (41st)Majrooh SultanpuriHindi
1992 (40th)Bhupen HazarikaAssamese
1991 (39th)Bhalji PendharkarMarathi
1990 (38th)Akkineni Nageswara RaoTelugu
1989 (37th)Lata Mangeshkar Hindi, Marathi
1988 (36th)Ashok KumarHindi
1987 (35th)Raj KapoorHindi
1986 (34th)B. Nagi ReddyTelugu
1985 (33rd)V. Shantaram Hindi, Marathi
1984 (32nd)Satyajit RayBengali
1983 (31st)Durga KhoteHindi, Marathi
1982 (30th)L. V. PrasadHindi, Tamil, Telugu
1981 (29th)NaushadHindi
1980 (28th)Paidi JairajHindi, Telugu
1979 (27th)Sohrab ModiHindi
1978 (26th)Raichand BoralBengali, Hindi
1977 (25th)Nitin BoseBengali, Hindi
1976 (24th)Kanan DeviBengali
1975 (23rd)Dhirendra Nath GangulyBengali
1974 (22nd)Bommireddy Narasimha ReddyTelugu
1973 (21st)Ruby Myers (Sulochana)Hindi
1972 (20th)Pankaj MullickBengali & Hindi
1971 (19th)Prithviraj KapoorHindi
1970 (18th)Birendranath SircarBengali
1969 (17th)Devika Rani (first winner)Hindi

Dadasaheb Phalke Award: Facts and Recipients

  • Dadasaheb Phalke was a producer, director, and screenwriter who produced India’s first feature film, Raja Harishchandra, in 1913.
  • It is India’s highest award in the field of cinema. It is presented annually at the National Film Awards by the Directorate of Film Festivals, an organization established by the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting.
  • It was presented for the first time in 1969. The first woman to receive the award was actress Devika Rani, the “First Lady of Indian Cinema.”
  • The recipients are honored for their “outstanding contribution to the growth and development of Indian cinema”.
  • The selection process for the award involves a committee appointed by the Government of India, which carefully evaluates individuals’ contributions and influence on Indian cinema.
See also  List of Wildlife Sanctuaries in India State-wise

Related – List of Governors of the Reserve Bank of India (RBI)


Who was the first recipient of the Dadasaheb Phalke Award?

Devika Rani (1969)

Who won the Dadasaheb Phalke Award recently?

Waheeda Rehman (2021)

What is the prize money for the Dadasaheb Phalke Award?

The award consists of a Swarna Kamal (Golden Lotus) medal, a shawl, and a cash prize of ₹1,000,000 (US$13,000).

Leave a Comment